Comfort food: Pumpkin pizza

So for the past few weeks we’ve been counting down to when my partner would be leaving to work in Africa for 2 months: Friday the 28th, Friday the 28th, Friday the 28th. Finally at about midnight last night he decided to double check his flight information only to see Thursday the 27th, “Oops, I’m leaving tomorrow!” So what ensued was a stressful night of packing and a hard goodbye come too soon today. It was never going to be easy, but we were supposed to have ONE MORE DAY! All this stress put me in a serious funk today and what I really wanted was some comfort food. You know the kind that isn’t always the easiest to come by when you are on a restricted diet.

So I took a little shortcut with the cooking today and bought a pre-made gluten free pizza crust. It was OK, but I’m really looking forward to trying out some homemade low FODMAP pizza crust recipes in the future, like this one! So this won’t be a long post, but I wanted to share this *eureka* moment with you… I knew I wanted to use some of the Japanese Hokkaido pumpkin I had bought on the pizza, but was feeling a bit lazy at the prospect of also preparing a safe tomato sauce, and suddenly it came to me: what if the pumpkin IS the sauce?! Enter one of the best pizza sauces I’ve ever eaten, I could eat it by the spoonful… and I did!

fullsizerender

Pumpkin puree is extremely simply to make, and so much better than anything you can find in a can. Just cut the pumpkin in half, scoop out the seeds, sprinkle with salt, and roast face down at 400 °F (200 °C)  for 35-45 minutes.When the pumpkin is ready, the skin will start to blister and you will be able to peel it right off!

Now I made a big batch, because a little pumpkin puree in the freezer is never bad for a rainy day. Just to give you an idea, just 1 and 1/2 little pumpkins made for 5 cups of puree once it was blended down (and about 1/2 a cup is enough to cover a pizza). I froze the leftovers in 1 cup batches for later.

dscn0818

To complete the sauce, I added a tablespoon of garlic infused oil (instructions on how to make your own here). Then I added 1 teaspoon of sugar, salt and pepper to taste (keeping in mind that some of my toppings were quite salty), a dash of chili flakes to add some spice, and pleeeenty of fresh rosemary, which just screams autumn to me. Alternatively fresh sage or basil could work here for a slightly different taste, or dry herbs in a pinch!

That is it! The sauce is ready to use just like you would a normal tomato sauce. Personally I chose to top my crust with, well plenty of the pumpkin sauce, obviously. Then I sprinkled a light layer of grated cheese… in Sweden we have something mysteriously called “pizza cheese” that is nice and low in sugars, so I used that (but any mozzarella at under 1 g of sugar per 100 g is also safe). Then came the feta and prosciutto, and, after it finished baking, some pine nuts roasted in a dry pan and fresh arugula. Served with a side of honey melon (1/2 cup per serving), because what goes better with extra prosciutto? (Nothing.)

Just what I needed on a day like today.  I definitely see many pizzas with this sauce and different low FODMAP toppings in my future…. I’m thinking blue cheese, zucchini, olives…. the possibilities are endless! Enjoy!


Pumpking pizza sauce:
(Makes enough for 3 pizzas!)

1 1/2 cups Hokkaido pumpkin puree
1 tbs. garlic infused oil
1 tsp. sugar
1 pinch chili flakes
1 tbs. fresh rosemary- chopped
salt, pepper to taste

Mix and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

