3 Step Knäckebröd (Swedish crisp bread)

1. Mix  2. Spread  3. Bake. It’s that simple!

That season is upon us…. cold season. And boy do I feel shiiiiittyyy. But I’m living alone at the moment, so I have no choice but to act like an adult, drag myself out of bed, and feed myself. Luckily this Swedish crisp bread, or knäckebröd, is suuuuper easy to make and I keep the ingredients around the house. I used to make this recipe with wheat flour, so I was pleasantly surprised to find that when I made it with pure cornmeal it tasted exactly the same! It’s also a great source of fiber, which can sometimes be hard to come by on the low FODMAP diet.

All you do is mix the ingredients in a bowl. Add a 1 cup (2.5 dl) mix of any seeds and spices you like. I usually use sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, linseed (flax), sesame seeds, poppy seeds, and then depending on what mood I’m in different dried spices like dill or rosemary. Or my favorite, cumin seeds. I also like to sprinkle some extra salt flakes on top. All of these seeds are safe at at least 1 tbsp, but generally well above that, so unless you eat this whole batch in one sitting, it should be fine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When spreading out the batter on your parchment-lined baking sheet, the trick is to get it as thin and even as possible so that you end up with a nice and evenly crispy bread. I’ve found that the easiest way to do this is to place a sheet of plastic wrap over it and then use my rolling pin to roll it out. Once you have the desired thinness, just peel off the plastic and toss it. Now all the prep is done, in under 5 minutes! All that is left is the waiting…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The baking time is very oven-dependent, and can take anywhere from 55-70 minutes depending on how thin you’ve spread your batter. There is a fine line between undercooked and not crispy enough, and slightly burnt and bitter, so keep an eye on the oven once you reach the 50 minute mark. When it is finished, the whole surface should be a nice golden brown. It took me a few practice rounds before I figured out just how I like mine, but now they turn out every time!

dscn0867

If you keep these in an airtight container, they will last for weeks, and they are great to have in the house for healthy late night snacking with cheese! I haven’t gone to the store to buy knäckebröd a single time since my mother-in-law gave me this recipe. I think it is so simple and delicious! Also great for party snacks!

dscn0870

Enjoy!


Ingredients***:

  • 2 dL (approx. 4/5 cups) cornmeal
  • 1/2 dL (just under 1/4 cup) oil (any kind, I use olive oil)
  • 2,5 dL (1 cup) mixed seeds and spices of your choice
  • 2 dL warm water
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

***Please excuse the awkward measurements in cups for those living outside of Sweden (possibly the only place in the world that uses deciliters for everything?). Precision is not so important in this recipe, as long as you have approximately equal parts water and cornmeal.

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Spread onto a parchment-lined baking sheet and roll out into a thin layer, using plastic wrap to keep it from sticking to the rolling pin.
  3. Bake at 150 °C (300 °F) for 55-70 minutes, until the entire surface is a golden brown. Wait for it to cool before you break into pieces and enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

