Better late than never holiday post?

Admittedly my PhD thesis is taking over my life, and I don’t reeeaally have time to maintain a blog at the moment. Also my stomach has been feeling so shitty and even though the FODMAP diet has gotten rid of a lot of my old symptoms, its come with a host of new ones. Its hard to feel inspired about a diet when it isn’t really helping you feel 100%. Still I REALLY meant to make a post around Thanksgiving time, and share some recipes that allowed my Friendsgiving parties to be enjoyable, despite the fact that I couldn’t eat most of the food.

For example, this saffran quinoa “stuffing” was really great, but I didn’t have the time to make a proper post about it with a recipe: DSCN0967.jpg

I cooked the quinoa in water that I first brought to a boil with some crushed saffron, bay leaves, chili flakes, salt and pepper. Then I added to the stuffing some sautéed celery root, a safe serving of dried cranberries, the green tops of green onions, and some roasted walnuts. Delicious!

I also discovered that in the absence of enough safe pumpkin, you can use carrot to make pumpkin pie…. Just boil and mash. I made this safe pumpkin pie recipe using half pumpkin/half carrot puree and coconut cream, and it was a HUGE hit at the party I went to.

dscn0962

Carrot on top, pumpkin below… 4 medium-large carrots made 1 cup of puree.

Then the next night I went to a birthday party, where of course I wouldn’t be able to eat the cake, so instead I made these carrot/zucchini mini-cupcakes. The only difference was that I didn’t have enough almonds, so I ground up some walnuts (more FODMAP friendly anyways) and added some extra rice flour. I skipped the raisins, skipped the honey, and used lactose-free cream cheese and powdered sugar for the frosting instead. Note that almond meal is only safe at 1/4 cup, so if you are using it you should limit your intake to 6 mini-muffins!

dscn0968dscn0971

At first I was embarrassed to serve these next to the fancy cake, but they were also a HUGE hit and everyone asked me for the recipe!

So there you have it… my thanksgiving… Sorry [to my 2 subscribers] that I couldn’t turn out a proper post. I am really hoping and planning to finally post a Peruvian recipe on here one of these days soon!

In the meantime, I hope these tips were useful! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

